I Am A Story Teller

story telling

I remember one of my first forays into story writing.

At the time, I was living in Williamsburg, Virginia. We often went to the Powhatan Indian village, in the recreated Jamestown Settlement. I loved walking into the wigwams and longhouses that they lived in, gazing up at the bent sapling framework and woven mat roofs. The smell of birch bark, smoke and Virginia damp air enveloped me in this little settlement. It was pure magic.

powhatan

I pestered the tour guides to teach me everything; thankfully they were patient with the overenthusiastic, precocious little redhead named Dana. I learned that sweat lodges were believed to chase away sickness, that the Powhatans traded with wampum beads (made of purple and white shells), and my heroine, Pocahontas, didn’t actually marry John Smith.

Pocahontas

As you can probably guess, my favorite movie was Pocahontas. I would sing “Colors of the Wind” non-stop, and collected rabbit foot key chains, imagining that I had trapped the rabbits myself. My mom, encouraging my creativity, would staple together paper books for me, so I could write stories about my favorite characters. I loved to make up adventures about Pocahontas, John Smith, and Thomas (a fictional character from the movie). I also spent quite a bit of time in my own mind, creating dialogue and developing the world they lived in.

pocahontas

This memory is one I haven’t thought of in a while, but came to mind when I was listening to a Pixar Story Telling Course on Khan Academy.  This memory is filled with vivid emotions of excitement and passion for creating. It reminds me that I am a storyteller, and that I have been since I was a little girl.

Published by

danabuchmiller

My name is Dana Maye Buchmiller, pronounced "Bookmiller," and I love to write. I enjoy geology, films with subtitles, poetry, as well as mangoes, Indian cuisine and sushi. I love elephants and have them all over my house. :) I married my sweetheart Ben in 2011, and enjoy going on road trips and adventures with him. I have two main blogs: Dana Maye.com, and Dana Buchmiller .wordpress.com. Dana Maye.com is my style and beauty blog. I like to combine the art of thrifting and refashioning with minimalist luxury. I also love navigating the world of cosmetics to find flattering makeup for redheads. My style blog is splashed with color, enthusiasm and quirkiness. Dana Buchmiller.WordPress.com is my personal blog and writing haven. Here, I will share my projects, stories, and other aspects of my writing voyage. :) I will also blog about the important things in my life, like family, friends, rocks, nature, traveling, food –and of course -my daily escapades.

Leave a Reply

